WASHINGTON – In an address to the nation Wednesday night, President Trump announced sweeping travel restrictions on travel from 26 European countries.

“We made a life-saving move with early action in China,” Trump said from the Oval Office desk. “Now we must take the same action in Europe.”

Beginning Friday at midnight, travel from Europe to the US will be suspended for 30 days. The United Kingdom is one of few exceptions.